“The journey of…

Quote
And the countdown begins!

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” ― Laozi

The journey that I am about to embark on is leaving me feeling excited, nervous and curious. On January 30th, I am leaving for New Delhi, India. I’ll be focusing on Health and Human Rights with the SIT Experiential Learning Program. My classes include Capacity Building, NGOs and Healthcare Delivery, Politics and Economies of Public Health, Intensive Beginners Hindi, Field Methods and Ethics in Social Science and Health and an Independent Study Project. Our program includes us traveling a lot between the rural and urban areas of Northern India. For my Independent Study Project (ISP), I am interested in researching how religion plays a role in an individual’s access to health care.  I am going to a place that is filled with many stereotypes and I am interested in finding the truth.

The next eighteen days are going to be me focusing on learning basic Hindi and mastering Devanagari script. Devanagari is the script used for the Hindi language, similar to the alphabet. My study abroad program sent us some primary education books from India to help get us started on learning the language and the script. Learning this new language is what I am most nervous about. For the whole program, we have to use our new Hindi language skills to get in and around India. However, I am ready to take on this challenge. I can’t let language barriers get in the way.

Materials to study Devanagari script

Materials to study Devanagari script

Another thing that I am working on before I leave is obtaining my student visa, finding clothes that are perfect for both the weather and the culture and saying my goodbyes to my family and friends. I am praying that everything goes as planned and I am on that plane in eighteen days.

I’ll be blogging about my experiences to and from India. I hope to see a sense of growth within myself over the next three months.

Śānti Prēma Ēkatā

Peace Love Unity

4 thoughts on ““The journey of…

  1. AnnMarie Jones

    Chris, I totally enjoyed reading your blog. WOW WOW WOW. Makes me wanna take a trip to India.
    First, I’d like to say God Bless you and all that you will and plan to do. May God’s grace, mercy and love be with you every second of the day. May He open your mind and bless you with great knowledge and understanding. May God bless you with Godly Favor with whomever you come in contact with. May God’s angels keep watch over you day and night. May you ALWAYS remember to lean on Jesus and ALWAYS remember to PRAISE HIM. When you praise him the BLESSINGS will come down upon you. ALWAYS remember that your mom, dad, sis Aliyah and your BFF/brother admires you and LOVE YOU VERY MUCH!!! We’re already missing you and you haven’t boarded the plane yet:). PLEASE KEEP IN TOUCH and remember we’re only a phone call, text and email away. Be smart, be strong and ENJOY this journey that God has blessed you with. We Love You our Sweet Christina
    PS. I’m excited to read future blog information. Keep blogging:)

    • Thank you for your supportive and motivating words. I will make all of you guys proud. I will definitely keep God and Jesus on my mind while I am there. I love each and every one of you very much and I’ll miss you guys too. I hope you like my future blog posts. I love you :)

Leave a Reply

